Schedules


Click or tap any section title to collapse or expand it.

Expand all sections | Collapse all sections

Routes/Schedules
Household garbage, compost and recycling are all collected on the same day. The city is divided into four collection zones, serviced on either Monday, Tuesday, Thursday or Friday, provided there is no holiday. If you are unsure when your collection day is, please refer to the map below or call 252-399-2485 with your street address to inquire.
Garbage Collection Routes

Garbage Collection Routes

Holiday Schedule

Environmental services will alter its garbage and recycling collection schedule in observation of several holidays throughout the year. This allows the city workers who serve you all year to enjoy these holidays with their families and loved ones. Your cooperation and understanding are appreciated.

Please refer to the chart below, the holiday magnet, the Wilson Times, Wilson’s Channel 8, or call 252-399-2485 to inquire about schedule changes.

Holiday observed
Pick-up moves from
To
2015
NEW YEARS
Thursday, Jan 1 – No pick-up
Thursday, Jan. 1
Wednesday, Dec. 31
MARTIN LUTHER KING DAY
Monday, Jan 19 – No pick-up
Monday, Jan. 19
Tuesday, Jan. 20
Tuesday, Jan. 20
Wednesday, Jan. 21
EASTER
Monday, April 6 - No pick-up
Monday, April 6
Tuesday, April 7
Tuesday, April 7
Wednesday, April 8
MEMORIAL DAY
Monday, May 25 - No pick-up
Monday, May 25
Tuesday, May 26
Tuesday, May 26
Wednesday, May 27
INDEPENDENCE DAY
Friday, July 3 - No pick-up
Thursday, July 2
Friday, July 3
Wednesday, July 1
Thursday, July 2
LABOR DAY
Monday, Sept 7 – No pick-up
Monday, Sept. 7
Tuesday, Sept. 8
Tuesday, Sept. 8
Wednesday, Sept. 9
VETERANS DAY
Wednesday, Nov 11
No special pick-ups  
THANKSGIVING
Thursday, Nov 26 – No pick-up
Thursday, Nov. 26
Wednesday, Nov. 25
CHRISTMAS
Friday, Dec 25 – No pick-up
Friday, Dec. 25
 Thursday, Dec. 24
2016
Pick-up moves from
To
NEW YEARS
Friday, Jan 1 – No pick-up
Friday, Jan. 1
Thursday, Dec. 31
MARTIN LUTHER KING DAY
Monday, Jan 18 – No pick-up
Monday, Jan. 18
Tuesday, Jan. 19
Tuesday, Jan. 19
Wednesday, Jan. 20
EASTER
Monday, March 28 - No pick-up
Monday, March 28 
Tuesday, March 29
Tuesday, March 29
Wednesday, March 30
MEMORIAL DAY
Monday, May 30 - No pick-up
Monday, May 30
Tuesday, May 31
Tuesday, May 31
Wednesday, June 1
INDEPENDENCE DAY
Monday, July 4 - No pick-up
Monday, July 4
Tuesday, July 5

Tuesday, July 5
Wednesday, July 6

LABOR DAY
Monday, Sept 5 – No pick-up
Monday, Sept. 5
Tuesday, Sept. 6
Tuesday, Sept. 6
Wednesday, Sept.7
VETERANS DAY
Friday, Nov 11 - No pick-up
Thursday, Nov. 10
Friday, Nov. 11
Wednesday, Nov. 9
Thursday, Nov. 10
THANKSGIVING
Thursday, Nov 24 – No pick-up
Thursday, Nov. 24
Wednesday, Nov. 23
CHRISTMAS
Monday, Dec 26 - No pick-up
Monday, Dec. 26
Tuesday, Dec. 27
Tuesday, Dec. 27
Wednesday, Dec. 28

Containers should be placed behind the curb by 7:00 am on collection day. Junk normally collected at the curb on Wednesdays will not be picked up during holiday schedule weeks. Containers should be retrieved from the curb within 24 hours of collection.

Inclement Weather
In the event that conditions such as hurricanes, snow or ice prevent safe collection by our crews, schedules may be delayed. Please consult the Wilson Times (www.wilsontimes.com), Cable Channel 8, or call 252-399-2485 for more information. When conditions permit, collection will resume. We ask your patience during these times.
Leaf Season

Curbside Leaf Collection takes place mid-October to mid-January each year. During this period, residents may place “loose” leaves behind the curb for collection. Peak period occurs between mid-November and Christmas and collection takes longer.  Your patience during this time is greatly appreciated.

  • Loose leaves are collected by crews using vacuum machines.  To insure city-wide coverage, established routes have been developed and are pre-assigned.  Your neighborhood will be serviced as quickly as possible.
  • To expedite pickup, especially during peak season, putting leaves in bags, sheets, roll-outs or other containers enables compost crews to pick them up on your regular yard waste day.  

PLEASE NOTE: It is UNLAWFUL and a VIOLATION of CITY CODE to place, sweep or blow leaves and other yard waste into the curb, gutter, street, storm drains or catch basins. Warning notices will be issued to violators, with tickets issued to repeat offenders. Materials MUST be placed behind the curb for collection.

Please do not place leaves over water meters or utility boxes.

The employees in the Environmental Services Division are pleased to provide this service to you. We request your cooperation and patience as we work to Keep Wilson Clean and Green!

Special Collections

Spring Clean-Up: April 22 – 26

The last full week of April is designated Spring Clean-Up Week in the City of Wilson.  Normal rules for collection are waived except that car frames and construction debris are not picked up.  It is not necessary to call in during this time.  We ask you patience as participation is widespread and removal takes several weeks.  If you desire immediate removal, you are encouraged to haul this waste to the Wilson County Landfill.

Neighborhood Clean-ups

Organize a group of volunteers and we will provide the materials you need to make your neighborhood clean-up successful.  Call 252-399-2466 to plan your project. 

Paint Swap

The next Paint Swap will be held on Saturday, April 27 from 8-11 a.m. at the Wilson County Landfill, off N.C. 42 East.  Drop off your latex paint for disposal or reuse, or pick up some for your next project. Call 252-399-2466 for more information.

Oil or latex paint (in liquid form) may NOT be disposed of with your household garbage.  Kitty litter, dirt, or paper strips may be mixed with the paint to solidify the liquid, or the lid may be removed for smaller quanitites to dry naturally.  Once solid, the paint may be disposed of with your household garbage.